top of page

Christmas at home after 2 years

I live in Taiwan since August this year. Sometimes I feel lonely and desperate for my friends back at home. They are my darlings. But this was what I had to count on when I took off. And I did. No surprise. Once in a time a moment fly through my mind just to remind me how much I miss them. It is a reminder. When December came I was standing here, in the middle of the Christmas lights. I knew I did the best just in the end of this year.

My dad picked me up in the airport in Prague. My mum was sick in bed with her runny nose, annual event. My herritage. I love the moments when I go back. Do I leave so often just to live this moment again? I'd believe so, I remember all of them, either sad crying-over-my-shoulder-like or exciting mixed with my rebelliousness filling in my veins. I received many warm hugs, kisses on my cheeks... and tears, especially. My mum's tears. The moment when I need to tell myself again I am doing the right thing here. She also made decisions for her own life, right?

My 2 weeks of vacation started. And were all packed with meeting with my friends, former colleagues, errands and family time. At last. As many long-term wanderers may know, my first days contained visits at my insurance company and city office. That is so typical. We are 18 years in the 21st century and nobody yet invented a tenchological unbreakable municipal website where you could upload all documents needed. The feeling of 'being-here-not-for-1-day-but-1-month' is coming. Very quickly.

When I reached the finish line of those necesarry and totally boring errands I swiftly sank into my touristy mood. That thing when a local goes to all the touristic spots overly expensive and actually enjoys it. The Old Town Square - hot wine, Wenceslas Square - hot chestnuts, my favourite restaurant Potrefena Husa at the Narodni Street, cafe Louvre, the Vltava river, here we go. This is just the beginning.

My short visit of my hometown caused my cell phone a heart attack. If I have to quote my mum on the last day, it was something like this: 'You haven't spend a whole day at home!'. So first, I am young. Second, I'd be home alone, my parents went to work anyway! What nonsense one's love can cause.

Especially my own. I hope I successfully spread my love around my friends once more in the year of 2017. That's what Christmas time is for. To spread love. To be totally honest, you never know who will be gone next time. Christmas is the period of time when honestly should be forgiven more than ever. That motivated me to spread my love and affection even further beyond my own expectations. With my eyes wide opened I could see the person who wanted it the most and yet got nothing. That person makes me happy now in our limited options we have. And I am more than ever motivated to fulfill my routine with adventures so that the time goes by quickly. And I will be home again soon.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page