top of page

The real California?

This is me for the first time from California where I am gonna live for the whole year. A month ago I quit my university, matched with an american family based in San Leandro, CA, packed my luggage and went straight to the airport (PRG). So here I am full of expectations how to get the most of it. People like to talk about the famous 'American Dream'. I did not do much research prior to my departure because my decision came out all of a sudden. That is probably what kept me from making up naive ideas and high expectations of a flawless country where superheroes jump over skyscraper's rooftops. My mind was actually blank, totally. Waiting for adventures to come to make the canvas gradually both dark and colorful.

I was curious as toddler. With my nose stuck on the passenger's window I observed the same street everytime. The same old East 14th Avenue. I have seen all the details which locals already discarded. But by remembering them I was actually trying to blend in with the local community. I could hide among those Americans and nobody would suspect any foreign vibes. The big deal is that real Americans are not among us that often. Neighborhoods are filled with immingrant from around the world, mostly from Mexico and Asia. Those families either recently moved in or they live here for just about two generations. No deep roots in this land. It is hard to find an ideal which you can look up to. There was one bigger trouble for me. Generally, Americans do everything else but trying to blend in. They try to be unique so that they achieve visibility. I can feel their patriotism to the bone, something opposite to my homeland, the Czech republic. Barely I hear people speak respectfully or passionately about our country or even see flags hung on the window sills. American flags furiously blow in the wind usually stuck in the flower pots or by the chimney. Plus, Americans live by politics. Oh Lord, the Trump vs. Clinton duel.. I could feel the public pressure, the quiet waiting.

American community is juridically equal, BUT... There comes the eye-opener. People achieve many privileges according to their credit level. In one's lifetime a person does many activities with what he or she tries to rise their credit level. What matters? Anything. Marriage, origin, education, what cars do you drive, position, usage of credit cards (even though you do not need them) or at last how much the person spends. Later on, for example, when you ask a bank for a mortgage the bank will give you a certain privilege accordingly to your credit level. You can use your credit on whatever you want. Credit level is measured by points. For example 750-800 points is already a respectfully good level. Hence Americans try to look impressive and rich so that they buy expensive cars and houses. This system made me think. I think you are thinking the same right now. Why is the system trying to make people become someone they are not? Once your credit drops down it is hard to rise it up again. Anyway, if you have something to say to this topic I will appreciate it very much because I, myself, would like to know more.

To sum this up, my first impression is that even though people seem content with the image of fulfilling the american dream, the reality is sometimes very different. They try to be unique, to be 'themselves', they are all raised like that, proudly and supported. The question is what happens to those who cannot succeed, who are not unique or do not know how to show it because their low credit level does not allow them to. You'd be surprised how many people like that are living here. That is the beginning.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page